Benson Bobrick. A Passion for Victory: The Story of the Olympics in Ancient and Early Modern
Times
. (Knopf, 2012)
A thankfully non-idealized look at the Olympics as sports, history, and culture. That means it will have
some appeal to those interested in any of those aspects, but might be dissappointing to a hard-core
sports or history buff. But with it being an Olympic year, this should be a real draw, especially
compared to the standard sickeningly sweet Olympics books for kids.

Suzy Beamer Bohnert. Learning Basketball’s Lingo. (B&B Publishing)
From the “Game Day Goddess” comes a book on the language of basketball for the complete novice.
What makes this book special? It covers not just the official terms, but slang as well. Where else are
you going to find a definition of a “ticky-tack foul”? A bit simplistic for the sports buff, but for anybody
who wants to sit down next to dad and watch a game, this is the dictionary for you.

Fred Bowen. "All Star Sports Story" (Series)
For fans of Dan Gutman, Fred Bowen too combines sports action with sports history. His "All Star
Sports Story" series books are shorter than his others, quick reads for the sports fans out there.
The Final Cut. (Peachtree, 2009) [Basketball]
Full Court Fever. (Peachtree, 2009) [Basketball]
The Golden Glove. (Peachtree, 2009) [Baseball]
The Kid Coach. (Peachtree, 2009) [Baseball]
Off the Rim. (Peachtree, 2009) [Basketball]
On the Line. (Peachtree, 2009) [Basketball]
Playoff Dreams. (Peachtree, 2009) [Baseball]
T.J.'s Secret Pitch. (Peachtree, 2009) [Baseball]
Winners Take All. (Peachtree, 2009) [Baseball]

Fred Bowen. "Fred Bowen Sports Stories" (Series)
Quarterback Season. (Peachtree, 2011) [Football]
Sports books often deal with the moment; this one looks at all those moments that make a season.
Told convincingly in the voice of an eigth grade quarterback, with all the excitement,
dissappointments, jealousy, and satisfaction of school sports, this is the freshest sports book of the
year.
Real Hoops. (Peachtree, 2011) [Basketball]
Throwing Heat. ( Peachtree, 2010) [Baseball]
Jack Lerner is a flame thrower. Still in middle school, he is starting to compare his pitching speed
with major leaguers, but in a new league the hitters don't seem impressed. Are his baseball dreams
only that? How hard does he have to throw? This is the story of a thrower faced with the daunting
task of becoming a pitcher.
Touchdown Trouble. (Peachtree, 2009) [Football]
Every sports story has that "Uh-Oh" moment, when everything that was sure becomes unsure, when
everything is on the line. Sports are that way, so sports stories, at least the good ones, are as well.
This Fred Bowen beauty has the best kind of uh-oh moment. You will never see it coming, and when it
happens, you won't believe you didn't see it coming.
Hardcourt Comeback. (Peachtree, 2010) [Basketball]
Dugout Rivals. (Peachtree, 2010) [Baseball]
Soccer Team Upset. (Peachtree, 2009) [Soccer]

John Feinstein.
Change-Up: Mystery at the World Series. (Knopf, 2009) [Baseball]

John Feinstein.
Cover-Up: Mystery at the Super Bowl. (Knopf, 2007) [Football]

John Feinstein.
Last Shot: A Final Four Mystery. (Knopf, 2005) [Basketball]

John Feinstein.
Vanishing Act: Mystery at the U.S. Open. (Knopf, 2006) [Tennis]

Tim Green.
Baseball Great. (HarperCollins, 2009) [Baseball]

Tim Green.
Football Champ. (HarperCollins, 2009) [Football]

Tim Green.
Football Genius. (HarperCollins, 2007) [Football]

Tim Green.
Football Hero. (HarperCollins, 2008) [Football]

Tim Green.
Pinch Hit. (Harper, 2012) [Baseball]
It's The Prince and the Pauper, with diving stabs of line drives and towering home runs. And the
modern American royalty, movie stars!

Tim Green. Unstoppable. (Harper, 2012)
Defensive linemen? Heck, they are nothing compared to what Harrison has had to deal with, and he
has the bruises to show for it. Maybe that is what makes him so thrilled to throw his body into
tacklers, and carry tacklers down field on his back. After being beaten and kicked around as a foster
kid, he can handle anything... until the worst of anything hits him from out of the blue.

Dan Gutman. The Secret Life of Doctor Demented. (Simon Pulse, 2001) [Wrestling]

Gordon Korman.
The Chicken Doesn’t Skate. (Scholastic, 1996) [Hockey]

Mike Lupica.
The Big Field. (Penguin, 2008) [Baseball]

Mike Lupica. "Game Changers" (Series)
Game Changers. [Book 1] (Scholastic, 2012) [Football]
Everyone thinks the quarterback has to be a leader on a football team. But does a leader have to be a
quarterback? And does being a quarterback make you a leader? Mike Lupica is back with his best
book since
Heat, doing what he does best, reminding all of us why we love the game.
Play Makers. [ Book 2] (Scholastic, 2013) [Basketball]
Your coach can tell you it isn't between you and him; it is his team verses your team. Your best girl
can tell you it isn't between you and him; it is about you and her. You can even tell yourself it isn't
between you and him; you need to play your game. But when the game is on the line and you are the
best two players on the court, guess what? It is you against him.

Mike Lupica. Heat. (Philomel, 2006) [Baseball]

Mike Lupica.
Travel Team. (Philomel, 2004) [Basketball]

Mike Lupica.
The Underdogs. (Philomel, 2011) [Football]
A feel good story with tons of football action from the dean of juvenle sports fiction. Something for the
guys to read until Sports Center comes on. With a kick-butt girl player too.

Chris Lynch. Gold Dust. (HarperCollins, 2000) [Baseball]

Kadir Nelson.
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball. (Jump at the Sun, 2008)
[Baseball - Nonfiction]

Gary Paulsen.
How Angel Peterson Got His Name, and Other Outrageous Tales of Extreme Sports.
(Yearling, 2004) [Extreme Sports]

Cal Ripkin Jr.
Hothead. (Hyperion, 2011) [Baseball]
Connor Sullivan has it all for the Orioles Babe Ruth League Baseball team: he can field, throw, run, hit,
and hit for power. All of which does him no good if he can’t keep his temper and keep himself from
being kicked off the field, maybe for good.

Cal Ripkin Jr. Super-Sized Slugger. (Hyperion, 2012) [Baseball]
Cody Parker is thrilled to have landed on his new baseball team, and most of the Orioles are thrilled to
have their new third baseman and fifth-hitting slugger. Who isn’t thrilled? How about the Oriole’s old
third baseman and fifth-hitting slugger?

John H. Ritter. The Boy Who Saved Baseball. (Philomel, 2003) [Baseball]

Michael J. Rosen, with Ben Kassoy.
No Dribbling the Squid: Octopush, Shin Kicking, Elephant Polo,
and Other Oddball Sports.
(Andrew McMeel, 2009) [Nonfiction]

Steven Sandor.
Playing for Keeps. (Lorimer, 2012) [Soccer]
“A win is good. You know how people call soccer ‘The Beautiful Game’? Well, the person who came
up with that saying is dumb… sometimes you win ugly… You know what they call a team that wins
games like that twenty times a year? Champions, that’s what!”

Shelley Sommer. Hammerin' Hank Greenberg: Baseball Pioneer. (Calkins Creek, 2011) [Baseball]
In the 1930's and 1940's, sports went a long way towards breaking down barriers. We all know about
Jackie Robinson, Joe Louis, and Jesse Owens, but few people know the story of Hank Greenberg, the
first great Jewish baseball player, who fought through descrimination to win two MVP awards and the
respect of a nation for his character, his patriotism, and his homerun swing.

Timothy Tocher. Chief Sunrise, John McGraw, and Me. (Cricket Books, 2004) [Baseball]

Wes Tooke.
Lucky: Maris, Mantle, and My Best Summer Ever. (Simon & Schuster, 2010) [Baseball]
Baseball players are real people. Even big-leaguers. Even New York Yankees. Even baseball legends
chasing one of the greatest records in all of sports are real guys. Louis “Lucky” May could not have
been luckier when he gets a chance to know the real Mickey Mantle and Roger Maris as they went
after the great Babe Ruth’s single season home run record.
Books For Boys
Suggestions by Michael Sullivan
Middle School Boys: Sports
The Web Home of Michael Sullivan
teacher, librarian, chess instructor, author, storyteller, expert on boys and reading.
Go To:        Books for Boys        Mike's Books        Coming Appearances        Book a Program        Mike's Resume        Mike in the
News        Poetry        Email Mike        Home        
Most Recent:

Fred Bowen. Double Reverse. [Fred Bowen's Sports Stories] (Peachtree, 2014)
Everyone who plays team sports has to face the priority question at some time. Are you a
quarterback, or a football player? Are you a member of the offense, or a member of the team? But in
Fred Bowen's latest, priorities get challenged, stretched, and tied in knots when a soccer
defenseman becomes a goalie to become a football player to become a kicker and end up as a
running back?? And SHE's not even the main character! Keep your eye on the ball in this high-fun,
high-action sports tale.


Cal Ripken. Wild Pitch. [Cal Ripken, Jr.'s All-Stars] (Disney-Hyperion, 2013) [Baseball]
What kind of sports book starts half-way through a season with no wins? Oooh, wonder if they'll
make the playoffs? Not likely bub. Robbie, the Orioles' pitcher, would like to just get through the
season without killing anybody.  Cal Ripkin, Jr., the one baseball player who played through more
thick and more thin than anybody else, tells a real story of real kids trying really hard not to really
suck.