Tony Abbott. “The Secrets of Droon” (Series):
The Hidden Stairs and the Magic Carpet. (Scholastic, 1999)
Journey to the Volcano Palace. (Scholastic, 1999)
The Mysterious Island. (Scholastic, 1999)
City in the Clouds. (Scholastic, 1999)
The Great Ice Battle. (Scholastic, 1999)   
The Sleeping Giant of Goll. (Scholastic, 2000)
Into the Land of the Lost. (Scholastic, 2000)
The Golden Wasp. (Scholastic, 2000)
Tower of the Elf King. (Scholastic, 2000)   
Quest for the Queen. (Scholastic, 2000)
The Hawk Bandits of Tarkoom. (Scholastic, 2001)
Under the Serpent Sea. (Scholastic, 2001)
The Mask of Maliban. (Scholastic, 2001)
Voyage of the Jaffa Wind. (Scholastic, 2002)
The Moon Scroll. (Scholastic, 2002)
The Knights of Silversnow. (Scholastic, 2002)
The Dream Thief. (Scholastic, 2003)
Search for the Dragon Ship. (Scholastic, 2003)
The Coiled Viper. (Scholastic, 2003)
The Ice Caves of Krog. (Scholastic, 2003)
Flight of the Genie. (Scholastic, 2004)
The Isle of Mists. (Scholastic, 2004)
The Fortress of the Treasure Queen. (Scholastic, 2004)
The Race to Doobesh. (Scholastic, 2005)
The Riddle of Zorfendorf Castle. (Scholastic, 2005)
The Moon Dragon. (Scholastic, 2006)
In the Shadow of Goll. (Scholastic, 2006)
Pirates of the Purple Dawn. (Scholastic, 2007)    
Escape from Jabar-loo. (Scholastic, 2007)
Queen of Shadowthorn. (Scholastic, 2007)
Moon Magic. (Scholastic, 2008)
The Treasure of the Orkins. (Scholastic, 2008)
Flight of the Blue Serpent. (Scholastic, 2008)
In the City of Dreams. (Scholastic, 2009)
Crown of Wizards. (Scholastic, 2009)

Tony Abbott. “Underworlds” (Series)
The Battle Begins. [Book One] (Scholastic, 2011)
When Monsters Escape. [Book Two] (Scholastic, 2012)
Revenge of the Scorpion King. [Book Three]   (Scholastic, 2012)
The Ice Dragon. [Book Four] (Scholastic, 2012)
Owen Brown is unaware of all the underworlds of mythology, until they find a hole in our world where
his best friend is standing. Suddenly, Dana is missing and Owen is on a quest to drag her back from
the land of the dead. For all those aspiring Rick Riordan readers out there, here is where your quest

Ridley Pearson and Dave Barry. “Never Land” (Series):
Escape From Carnivale. (Disney Editions, 2006)
Cave of the Dark Wind. (Disney Editions, 2007)
Blood Tide. (Disney Editions, 2008)

Jon Scieszka. “The Time Warp Trio” (Series):  
Knights of the Kitchen Table. (Viking, 1991)
The Not-So-Jolly Roger. (Viking, 1991)
The Good, The Bad, and the Goofy. (Viking, 1992)
Your Mother Was a Neanderthal. (Viking, 1993)
2095. (Viking, 1995)
Tut Tut. (Viking, 1996)
Summer Reading is Killing Me. (Viking, 1998)
It's All Greek to Me. (Viking, 1999)
See You Later, Gladiator. (Viking, 2000)
Sam Samurai. (Viking, 2001)
Hey Kid, Want to Buy a Bridge? (Viking, 2002)
Viking It and Liking It. (Viking, 2002)    
Me Oh Maya. (Viking, 2003)
Da Wild, Da Crazy, Da Vinci. (Viking, 2004)
Oh Say, I Can't See. (Viking, 2005)
Marco? Polo! (Viking, 2006)
Nightmare on Joe's Street. (Viking, 2006)
Lewis and Clark... and Jodi, Freddi, and Samantha. (Viking, 2006)
The Seven Blunders of the World. (Viking, 2006)

Michael Sullivan.
The Sapphire Knight. (The Bard, Book One)  (PublishingWorks, January 2009)
A young traveler sits beside a fire on an open heath and hears a most amazing tale from a broken and
disfigured old man, a tale of sorcery and battle between the light of a great white castle and the dark
green wood, between the White Lady and the Green Queen. Caught between two great powers, a
young knight must discover truth and his own courage to defend that truth. But is it just an idle tale of
a lying old man, or is it the true history of the Sapphire Knight?

Vivian Vande Velde. Wizard at Work. (Magic Carpet Books, 2003)
Books For Boys
Suggestions by Michael Sullivan

Elementary Boys: Fantasy and Magical Realism
The Web Home of Michael Sullivan
teacher, librarian, chess instructor, author, storyteller, expert on boys and reading.
Go To:        Books for Boys        Mike's Books        Coming Appearances        Book a Program        Mike's Resume        Mike in the
News        Poetry        Email Mike        Home        

Sharon Creech.
The Boy on the Porch. (Joanna Cotler Books, 2013)
Can a child be so much the pure embodiment of childhood that he is known simply as "boy"? Can
such a child be truly lost, even if he has no home, no family, no past, and no voice? And what can
such a child do for two adults who have everything, but are still lost themselves? It's a modern
parable with an air of magic.